How cute is this?

May 2, 2007 at 11:51 pm (GQ, In the News, Party Gurl, some introspection, TVLand, Uncategorized)

tk2.jpg

In Yahoo headlines today Disney Unveils social network for preteens.

How cute is this? And I mean that in a purely sarcastic way. So, this is like MySpace Disney, for kids 14 and under.

The preteens.

The preteens who already have a page on MySpace and thirty thousand friends to go with it.

The preteens who already have an up-all-night page on MySpace that are now going to gravitate towards a 9 o’clock-lights-out curfew on MySpace Disney.

Uh. Huh.

Not that I’m knockin’ Disney (love the movies, love the theme parks) or the Disney Channel. Quite the contrary:

“Hello, my name is Draven Atreides and I’m a former That’s So Raven addict. I’ve been clean for three years and counting.”

Notice how we kinda have the same name? Coincidence, I assure you. My stories will end up on the Disney Channel some day–mark my words–and the kidlets will have to get used to a new name…and a new girl. Party Girl, GQ, get your bags packed, cuz Hollywood, here we come!

Blink. Blink. Ahem.

Sorry. Got lost there for a moment. Seriously, I think it’s a great idea what they’re trying to do. What with all the sexual predators trolling through cyberspace these days, parents have to come up with new ways to protect their kids. I just think that when a kid hits the age of 14, it’s going to be all over but the cryin’ and they’re going to want to upgrade to the real deal.

I’m just sayin’.

Come on, come in. I’m on the case.

Leave a Reply

